My Voice-Over Demo – Check It Out!

As those of you know who have been following my blog, I took classes recently to learn the art of Voice-Over acting (VO). This is just what it sounds like: voice-only acting to be used for radio, or in the background of a TV commercial. Audiobooks, conventions and corporate videos are other areas where Voice Over is used. Voice Over actors also provide the character voices to your favorite animated movies!

I have been asked by some of you to provide more of a description about how to get into Voice Over acting, and to describe what the experience of recording a demo is like. I will do this in 2 or 3 separate posts so its doesn’t get too wordy.

A “demo” is a CD of different sound bytes – little samples of an actor’s voice. The idea is to show their range. I have been told by agents so far that I have a “Mom” type voice – a friendly voice that makes you feel that everything is going to be all right (if you buy the product, of course!) They have suggested that I do video commercials in addition to just voice, but I think I’ll stick with voice for now. Many actors cross over and do both.

I’ve attached samples from my VO demo here.

01 Track 01 1

02 Track 02 1

This is my first time attaching audio files to the blog, so please let me know if you have any technical issues opening or playing the files. There are 2 files – the first file is short format sound bytes like radio commercials, the second has samples for longer sound bytes (audiobook/documentary etc.). I had to reduce the size and sound quality considerably in order to insert it into this post, but you’ll get the general idea.

I will do a couple of follow-up VO posts, and talk about how to get started in a career doing VO work, if that is something that interests you. I’ll also talk more about the audition and recording process. I was surprised to discover that both recording and auditioning are SUPER FUN! I expected it to be scary but it’s really a blast. The night before my first audition I could hardly sleep because I was so nervous. I ended up having a really great time. This is a fun industry!

This entry was posted in Career, Lifestyle. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My Voice-Over Demo – Check It Out!

  1. geniespeaks says:

    I think I will see if there is a Voiceover class in my area. Thanks for opening my eyes.

  2. Your voice sounds just like the commercials I hear. As I type this, I have the TV on and it sounds just like your voice. I’m really happy for you that things are going so well in your voice over career and you’ve got to this point. You definitely sound really professional and I hope you keep up with it!

    • Thank you so much, Reggie! I really appreciate your feedback and encouragement. I was a little nervous about posting my first recording, so thanks for your nice comments.

      Now I just have to get motivated to get out there and pound the pavement to get VO jobs. Luckily there are skype interviews and online sites where you can apply. I’ll talk more about that process next week.

  3. Pingback: Inside the Recording Session | Simpler. Easier. Happier.

Leave a Reply

