One Lovely Blog

What a nice surprise!  Hulya of A Minimalist’s Musings has nominated Simpler. Easier. Happier for the One Lovely Blog Award!  Thanks Hulya, and I’m looking forward to reading your blog in more detail as well!

Here are the Rules of Acceptance:

  • Thank the person/people who nominated you and link back to them in your post.
  • Share seven possibly unknown things about yourself.
  • Nominate 15 or so bloggers you admire.
  • Contact the chosen bloggers to let them know you have nominated them and link back to them.

7 possibly unknown things about me:

1- I am a D-licensed skydiver and have jumped out of a plane about 350 times.  At one point, I was on a 4 person skydiving team.  I unfortunately had to quit due to sinus problems, but I’ll always have the great memories and friendships!

2-I have a serious allergy to chocolate.  So unfair!

3-I was in ballet for about 8 years.  Yes, I saw the Black Swan, LOL.  It doesn’t really exaggerate.  Ballet is tough on your feet, but it burns a lot of calories!  I used to eat like a high school football player and I weighed 110 pounds.  Those were the days.

4-I am supposedly a “prodigy” in regard to learning foreign languages.  I was tested years ago for aptitudes and the #1 career recommendation for me was working as a simultaneous translator for, say, the United Nations. Unfortunately, I have not really lived up to my polyglot potential.  I can pick up random words and phrases really quickly, but I’m only “fluent” in textbook Spanish.  Hoping to get fluent in French and maybe Italian in the future.

5-I am very accident-prone!  Maybe because I’m absent minded and sometimes don’t look where I’m going.  I’m always doing face plants into walls, falling down the stairs and tripping over stuff in general.  Luckily, thanks to my  ballet background, I can usually land gracefully.  I’ve also caught my hair on fire!

6-I absolutely love gardening.  My townhouse has a patio that I have turned into a small garden.  I love to sit outside, look at the flowers and commune with nature.

7-I am slightly claustrophopic.  I do OK for the most part, but I get edgy if someone really hems me in, or when I’m in a big crowd.  Those movies where they crawl through the building’s narrow air-conditioning shaft….ugh, I don’t even want to think about that!!!

Here are the other blogs that I would like to nominate for the award (some of my blogroll favorites were the same as Hulya’s, so here are some new ones) :

1-Minimalist Packrat

2-LA-story

3-Promising Poet

4-Small Notebook

5-Minimalist Woman

6-People, Not Stuff

7-Lucent Imagery

8-Emma Bauer

9-simplehumble

10-Minimalist Lifestyle

11-Fabulissime

12-Minimal Student

13-We Live Simply

14-Liquid French

15-Jacqui McCoy

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to One Lovely Blog

  1. dellapina says:

    I never knew most of these things!!! You are quite fascinating! :-D

  2. Audrey Ward says:

    Congratulations on your award! It is well deserved. So you are a sky diver, and I am terribly afraid of heights. A big challenge for me was going to Macchu Pichu but in one area I had climbed a steep precipice and could not get down because of my fear. Luckily one of the men working in the area showed me an easier way to get back to the ground.

  3. Sky Diving–I’m impressed! ;-)

  4. Thanks for the recommendation, great blog you have here, keep it up :)

  5. **Here’s a comment from Lucent Imagery – she was having technical difficulties posting on the blog.**

    Hi Sheri,

    Sorry I can’t comment on wordpress blogs (a problem at my end, not yours). So here’s my “comment”!

    So wonderful to learn more interesting facts about interesting you! And I’m honoured to be included on this list. At the moment I’m spending my time on other projects but I will keep it in my list to try and get to after this period has settled. I hope you are well!

    How are you going with your Project 333?

    Lucent Imagery
    images from inside the tunnel
    a legally blind photographer’s journal

    http://www.lucentimagery.com/

    • Thanks! I really enjoy your website and I hope some of my readers will pay you a visit!

      Doing great with Project 333, thank you. This last month has been a little harder than the first two.

      I haven’t needed more clothes – in fact, I needed less! I swapped out some clothes for accessories. I did buy a couple scarves for fall too. I do miss a couple of my necklaces. But I actually don’t feel like I NEED any more. It’s really suprising and eye-opening. We tend to keep a lot of stuff that apparently we don’t need, I guess! i do miss the variety a little bit but NO ONE has commented at all on my small wardrobe. Really interesting!

  6. I’m impressed, I have to admit. Rarely do I encounter a blog that’s
    equally educative and interesting, and without a
    doubt, you have hit the nail on the head. The problem is something that not enough men and women are speaking
    intelligently about. Now i’m very happy that
    I stumbled across this during my hunt for something regarding this.

Leave a Reply

