The Olympics – Without a TV

I don’t have a TV.

More specifically, I DO have 2 TVs, but they are not hooked up to anything. They can play DVDS but I don’t even use them for that anymore – I am getting ready to give one of them away, and the other is truly a decoration at this point. Its days are numbered as well.  I’m not 100% sure they even work as it’s been at least 6 months since I’ve turned them on. 

I haven’t really watched TV for the past 10 years, and usually I don’t miss it.  I posted about this a long time ago and got quite a reaction from readers!   The only time I really miss it is during Presidential elections, big events like Katrina or 911, and ….the Olympics!

The Bejing Olympics I pretty much missed.  I tried to watch the opening ceremony online but I think I got a virus along with it.  It was slow and also in German!  Luckily a friend had taped the opening so my Mom and I watched it later. I think I saw one running event on someone’s TV.

This time, the London Olympics, has been very different.  I was able to see quite a bit of the opening ceremony using the NBC app on my iPad.  Since I am a former skydiver, former Corgi owner and huge James Bond/Daniel Craig fan, I’m glad I got to see the video with him and the Queen (and the Corgis!!).  I unfortunately was not as lucky finding clips of the closing ceremony but I did see a little bit.

NBC actually was extremely generous and posted lots of footage of the Olympic events, even featuring key clips for the day.  I felt guilty that I actually didn’t watch more, but of course the point is that I don’t like to watch TV!  I watched enough that I feel more a part of the Olympic experience this time and got to enjoy some key moments.  They have plasma screens in the kitchens at work too so I caught occassional glimpses of rowing, etc when I was getting coffee.

This experience has still not convinced me to watch more TV (except PBS which I love and can get on my iPad).  However, I was inspired by the videos I did see and was glad that this time I was able to share a little bit in the Olympic experience.

This entry was posted in Consumerism. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Olympics – Without a TV

  1. Audrey says:

    Great post! I must say I was glued to the tv but when we drove home from Lake Tahoe, I was able to stream live on my iPad and that was so cool. I truly hope that when they are in Brazil, we will all be able to stream everything live. The four hour evening highlights of events that were done earlier is no longer relevant in the 21st Century.

  2. This was the only time I felt like I was missing out by not having a TV. Our Internet is too slow to stream… :-(. Oh well, I’m still glad we don’t have one.

Leave a Reply

