Project 333 – The Wrap-up

It’s hard to believe that it’s already three months since I started Project 333!

So, my final assessment? The whole experience was MUCH easier than I expected. It’s made me re-evaluate the way I shop and take a hard look at my “needs” vs “wants.” It sounds corny, but it was really a life-changing experience.

Now, I started this project after practicing Minimalism for a couple of years. But I now realize that, although I have far less material possessions than my friends do, I can get by with even less than I thought.

I went into this project with excuses ready, to explain to my co-workers and friends why I was wearing the same clothes over and over. But amazingly – NO ONE NOTICED. Not one person commented. In fact, I actually received more compliments on my appearance than usual! Probably because I coordinated my wardrobe so that everything would go together.

I ended up swapping a few clothes items for accessories in the last month, because I wasn’t even wearing all the clothes. I did have to be careful about doing laundry weekly so I had enough clothes. The last month, I did get restless, but it was more about a desire for variety/shopping, not based on actual need.

So…what now? I am going to plan a seasonal capsule wardrobe from now on. I will give myself a little wiggle room with accessories, but otherwise I don’t need anything more. I am on a diet and have lost 20 lbs already, so this will make it easy to replace my wardrobe. I went through my closet this week and filled three bags with clothing in other sizes I had been “saving” – I realize now I won’t need that much.

I want to thank Courtney Carver of http://www.bemorewithless.com for coming up with the idea for this great project! I really encourge you to try it – maybe even for just 2 weeks if you think you can’t do it. I think you will be shocked at how easy it is!

This entry was posted in Wardrobe. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Project 333 – The Wrap-up

  1. Audrey says:

    Congratulations on your many successes! You are truly living your life the way you want to and the 20 pound weight loss is outstanding.

  2. Wardrobe is such a work-in-progress. I’ve traded out quite a few things from when I first started. Good for you for getting such a great start on it!

Leave a Reply

