Spring Cleaning

Hi there – sorry it’s been AGES since my last post! I’ve been working some really crazy hours lately and neglecting everything else.

Speaking of which, I am way behind on spring cleaning of my home and other projects that I had planned. I am taking a short vacation soon but then I think I’ll consider putting in a more extensive vegetable garden.

Right now, I have a large container with basil, onions, strawberries and arugula but my veggie consumption has increased dramatically. I love the farmers market but seems like I’m always there! I’m lucky to have a few regular local farmers markets and a large farmers fruit/vegetable stand near my home.

The reason I have been eating more vegetables lately is an increase in my colon cancer risk. I’ve shared before that I’ve been getting colonoscopies every couple years since age 34. Recently it’s been more like 6-12 months apart. I’ve been doing some reading about organic vegetables and juicing and how it seems to help. I haven’t gone 100 percent vegetarian yet but probably 75 percent of my diet is veggie/fruit now. As a result, I don’t have to count calories anymore because those foods are naturally low in calories. I’m having a fruit shake most mornings now.

I used to have chronic indigestion and acid reflux, which also makes me a risk for esophageal cancer. My reflux is gone now, and only appears very mildly if I have Indian food, sushi or processed carbs. So I’m also trying to eat more whole grains like brown rice.

I’ll let you know how it goes – so far I’ve lost 6 lbs not trying hard at all and 3 inches off my waist. Oh, and no more hypoglycemia! Still have a bad sweet tooth though.

A friend recommended the book Eat to Live which was really helpful. Also the website Summer Tomato has lots of great ideas for healthy eating.

The best part, as a Minimalist, is that my life is less complicated with heartburn medicine and cooking elaborate recipes by eating a more whole-food diet. Organic veggies taste much better and don’t need as much sprucing up. So we shall see!

I’d be interested to hear if you are eating this way or grow your own fruit or veggies. Please comment if you have any suggestions!

This entry was posted in Food, Health, Weight loss and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spring Cleaning

  1. Audrey says:

    Good to hear from you. We have a huge vegetable garden with tomatoes, lettuces, cucumbers, green and yellow squash, beans, cucumbers, eggplant, peppers and herbs. We have lots of vegetarian meals or fish or chicken with vegetables. Stay healthy!

Leave a Reply

