Preppy Minimalist Capsule Wardrobe (updated)

I seem to be settling into my current size for now, so I expanded my wardrobe some. Although a wardrobe based on black as the primary neutral is the most versatile in my opinion, I find the color is a bit harsh for my coloring, especially in the Summer. I found myself drifting back to more traditional colors. I find that navy-on-navy is a bit formal though. Especially in California, people are somewhat more casual, so breaking it up with gray, khaki or white seems to tone it down a bit. White is best worn in the summer, but cream can look fresh anytime during the year.

This is my current capsule version:

Navy lightweight twill blazer
Slacks: khaki, gray, cream
Pencil skirt: gray, black, khaki, navy cotton twill
Sleeveless dress: gray, black
Jeans (dark wash)
5 short-sleeved blouses/sweater shells
White cotton blouse
Brown topsiders (or penny loafers)
Cardigans: Navy, cream, gray, bright blue, white
Navy cotton cable crewneck pullover sweater
Khaki shorts
3 Polo shirts

Silk & cashmere blend scarves
Pearl necklace & earrings
Black, navy, nude beige heels
Navy, chestnut brown ballet flats
Chestnut sandals (I like gold also but it’s not very preppy for daytime)
Tan day bag
Black clutch
L.L. Bean small boat & tote for summer (blue trim)

I have found some amazing vintage silk scarves on Etsy.com for great prices!! Check it out if you need to stock up.

This entry was posted in Minimalism, Preppy, Wardrobe. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Preppy Minimalist Capsule Wardrobe (updated)

  1. Audrey Ward says:

    Regarding Paleo my friend from AF said there are two great books on sale at Amazon for 99 cents, Death by Food Pyramid by Denise Minger and Eat the Yolks by Liz Wolfe Audrey

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. renata877 says:

    love this post!!! write a simalar one today! http://www.canthelpbutstare.com – hopefully we can follow each other :)

Leave a Reply

