No Television

I haven’t had TV for over 10 years, and I don’t miss it.

Apparently this is a revolutionary statement – when I tell people this, they look at me like I’m from Mars. A co-worker asked me not long ago, “What do you DO when you get home from work if you don’t have TV?” My response was a defensive, “Are you SERIOUS?” Yes, she was.

Maybe you can’t imagine your life without a TV. I’ll admit there are times when I did feel it might be useful: during the 9/11 crisis, Hurricane Katrina, national elections and the Olympics to name a few examples. Luckily the Internet now offers live streaming and that helps me connect when I really need to.

I do occassionally cheat and rent DVDs of TV shows or download them on iTunes. But really, if the TV isn’t available, it’s amazing how little I miss it. There are so many other things to do.

I have an answer to my friend’s question above. It’s another question: What could you do if you DIDN’T have a TV?

The possibilities are endless. Get out there and have some fun – the whole world is waiting for you. And if you really can’t live without your television, there’s always TiVo!

This entry was posted in Consumerism and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to No Television

  1. Cheryl Gilbert says:

    My job as a software developer can be stressful and sometimes requires very long hours. At the end of a work day, I’m often too tired to do anything but fall asleep on the couch as I try to watch TV. I HAVE to have my TV: news (MSNBC and CNN), HBO (original series), my people on Bravo (Rachel Zoe and Kathy Griffin), and E! for style and pop culture news. I never watch movies on TV – I can’t sit still long enough. I DO TiVo everything I watch and view it on my own schedule! I watch two to three hours of news every night. I watch recorded shows on the weekend.

  2. Thanks for your comments, Cheryl! I think TV is a major challenge for most people to give up. At least with TiVo you are choosing the content that you view and you’re not just watching whatever happens to be on.

    Personally, I would have a really tough time letting go of my iPod and Kindle! We all have something!

  3. 🙂
    I haven’t watched TV in about 15 years or so . . . Well, unless it’s football.
    G.

  4. Pingback: 1 Week, 1 Goal « People, Not Stuff.

Leave a Reply

