Thinking Outside The Box

As I reported in my last post, I am currently job-hunting. Ironically, my initial reaction was panic – I have to find another job! My brother and a former co-worker reminded me to enjoy this time and use it to pause and reflect. After all, this is what I wanted – a chance to re-evaluate my life and goals.

I have been fortunate to be contacted by several agents and employers already and I’ve had a couple great interviews along with several phone conversations. It’s good to know that things seem to be picking up a little in my area.

Although I have been applying for positions that I’ve done in the past such as Marketing, I decided to try thinking outside the box. Wouldn’t it be great to find something that didn’t require eight (or more) hours in an office/cubicle?

An ex-boyfriend emailed me via Facebook, suggesting that I consider travel writing – he’s thinking about it. So interesting because actually I had considered that.  It sure sounds like a fun job, but it might take a while to line up. I do intend to revive my freelance writing hobby. In the past, I often preferred to contribute articles for free so that I could set the terms and just do an occasional article on the side (mostly just contributing to friends’ blogs, plus a couple of magazines). But if I accepted payment…that could provide some extra income.

I was talking to my mom on the phone – she was encouraging me to go back into Marketing, because  I should play to my strengths and do something I really enjoy. Suddenly, I had a brainwave! A really outside-the-box idea!

Back when I was in Journalism school, my teacher recorded my voice for  radio and TV sample commercials for a class assignment. He told me that I had a “broadcast-quality” voice and could have a career in TV or radio. I didn’t think much about it at the time because I prefer print (now Internet) as a medium.

But over the years, I noticed that people always asked me to record the phone message at work, pitch in to cover reception phones, make announcements on the PA system, and record vacation messages on their voice mail. Everyone always commented on my voice. I’ve toyed with the idea of doing voice-over work, but who knows how to get into that industry?

After talking to my mom, I Googled “voice-over work” and it’s actually pretty straightforward. You put together a demo CD and send it to various agents and they might agree to represent you. I found a school nearby that does a free 2-hour seminar in September.  They’ll record a sample of my voice, and tell me right off if I don’t have what it takes. So I signed up for the free seminar for now – what the heck! I have the time and who knows where it might lead. This is definitely a long shot! About as long as it gets. But I’m glad that I am opening myself up to new and creative ideas. I won’t get voice-over work if I never audition for it. And it’s a fun and lucrative industry if I do get a break. I’ll let you know how it goes!

This entry was posted in Career and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thinking Outside The Box

  1. Reggie says:

    Haha that really is going outside the box and it’s awesome. The best part is that the class is free for your so if it doesn’t work out — at least you tried, you know?

    I hope that works out for you.

    Like you, I am currently in marketing, and like you, I am also trying to branch out too. Right now I’m calling up so contacts to try to learn more about grant writing. There is a huge demand, offers an ability to be work flexible, etc. So we’ll see about that one.

    I think like your friend said, this time is perfect for you to try out new ideas and see what works best and what doesn’t.

    Keep us updated.

    • Thanks for your encouragement, Reggie! Should be fun. Had a great Marketing interview today, so that would be great as well!

      Good luck with your interviews. My friend did grant writing and really liked it. That’s a great idea!

      8/26 UPDATE: I JUST GOT HIRED FOR A GREAT TEMP-TO-PERM POSITION, SO THAT TAKES SOME PRESSURE OFF. I’M STILL GOING TO PURSUE THE VOICE-OVER WORK THOUGH! AND THE FREELANCE WRITING AS WELL.

  2. Pingback: Stopping To Smell The Roses « Minimalist OC

Leave a Reply

