Stopping To Smell The Roses

Since I lost my job a few weeks ago, I’ve had the opportunity to get some things done on my “to-do” list:

· 2 doctors appointments
· Lab test
· Plumbing repairs
· Oil change for my car

Some of these things I put off way too long because I was “busy.” One doctor’s appointment was a year overdue. It’s made me realize how being self-employed could really free up spare time for things I need to get done.

I’ve been keeping very busy and have lined up a one-year temporary assignment. I tried to keep to a routine during this time, getting up about 6 a.m., taking a half-hour walk each morning, sending out resumes online, etc. Getting up early helps me be available in case an impromptu interview comes up.

At first it was hard to adjust to being home and just relaxing. I’m so used to being busy all the time! I decided to try something I couldn’t do if I was working. There’s a Farmer’s Market every Tuesday morning at the old Irvine Ranch Historical Park property. It’s near my brother’s house and I used to drive by and look at the historical buildings. But it was never convenient to take the day off from work. My sister-in-law and mother-in-law went there with me on my first Tuesday off. It’s a fun location – the library parking lot adjoins a rose garden, and you walk up the garden path to the back of the farmer’s market. I’ve since visited a couple times on my own.

My friends and family have kindly kept me busy with lunches and dinners and I’ve seen three movies in the past few weeks: Inception, Salt, and Eat, Pray, Love. Normally I see 1-2 movies a year in the theatre.

I’ve re-discovered the library. I have a great one not far from my house. I’ve read five books already. I am a big mystery fan and I couldn’t believe how many popular authors are at the library. I’ve been wasting money on books I’ll only read once! Not only does it save money, but it’s fun to visit the library as well. I didn’t realize they have movies and music CDs also. I’ve already supplemented my iTunes library – for free!

My new job starts in a couple weeks, although I’ll continue to look for a more lucrative permanent position. I’ve been so busy job hunting that I now have a sense of needing to enjoy myself before I get back to work. I plan to visit the beach and do some other fun activities while there is still time. One thing I will really miss is my half-hour walk every morning. I may just get up extra early and continue my walks. It’s a refreshing way to start my day.

Although this experience has shown me I’m not quite ready for full-time freelance work, it’s been a nice break. I will continue to investigate non-office options for work. My nephew is an actor, and has offered to possibly hook me up with some voice-over work, so that would be fun! My introductory voice-over class will start the evening after I begin my temp job. I haven’t had a chance to pursue freelance writing assignments while I’ve been off, but plan to look into that as well.

In the meantime…..the sun is shining and the birds are chirping! Time to head out into my garden with another library book!

This entry was posted in Career and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stopping To Smell The Roses

  1. Reggie says:

    Glad to hear the voice-over work is getting on track! I know you must be excited to try something new (and pretty cool). Who knows, maybe you can replace that guy with the deep voice who does all the movie previews 🙂 I saw Inception and I thought it was awesome. How was Salt? I’ve wanted to see it but haven’t had the chance yet but I have heard it’s pretty good and they are thinking of making a franchise. Anyway, good to hear the job stuff is coming along.

    • Hey, Reggie! Thanks for your support as always. Salt was great – I recommend it – very suspenseful and there are some good plot twists. Hope your job search is going well also!

Leave a Reply

