Motivation to Declutter

Wow. If you need motivation to declutter, try watching the TV show “Hoarders.”

I’ve been watching it on my computer via Netflix the past couple of days, and I can’t get through a whole episode without stopping several times to go through a drawer, closet, etc. That show makes me want to get rid of all my stuff and live out of a backpack.

I did a major decluttering a few months ago, and recently went through and got rid of a few more things. Thanks to the “Hoarders” show, I’ve designated four more boxes for Goodwill, and filled up a trash bag with miscellaneous trash.

This experience really shows me that decluttering is an ongoing process. I’ve discovered that my definition of “enough” is constantly changing.  I keep finding additional things that I don’t want to keep anymore.

Watching this show is really helpful. Of course, the cases they portray are extreme. The people profiled have an addiction and they are under emotional stress from being challenged to clear up their house in a short period of time. But their excuses sound familiar – I’ve used some of those excuses regarding my own stuff – maybe you have, too!

My own mother is a compulsive shopper and hoarder, although only about 25% as severe as what is shown on the show. The house was relatively clean and there wasn’t trash everywhere, just lots of stuff piled up and it got worse with age (and especially after we all left the house and my dad passed away).  My mother moved to an Independent Living facility earlier this year and my family and I helped clean out the house – I was getting physically sick going through all the piles of clothes and tossing out rotting food from her two refrigerators.  The sheer amount of stuff was mind-boggling and the idea of living with all this stuff was just overwhelming.  Not to mention the amount of money wasted that she could actually use for medical care, etc.  I think my minimalism may be a reaction to some of that – I definitely have a fear of developing hoarding tendencies.

From now on, if I get the urge to buy something I don’t need, I’ll watch an episode of “Hoarders!”

This entry was posted in Decluttering and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Motivation to Declutter

  1. stevie says:

    I find I go on a clean-out tear. I donate, I put together stuff for a garage sale. I clear out my closet of stuff that really is “tired”, never fit right or just didn’t wear. Also using a consignment shop works too. I rotate charities I use including homeless shelters and battered women’s shelters

  2. Pingback: Spring Cleaning Time | Simpler. Easier. Happier.

Leave a Reply

