Autumn Leaves

I just love Autumn. Even though I live in Southern California, I am lucky to live on a block that has a lot of trees with maple-like leaves (I think they’re called Liquidamber). They change color and fall when it gets down to about 50 degrees (farenheit). So we get a little taste of Fall even though the weather is pretty moderate here.

This past weekend, I took out the trash, picked up my mail, and did a lot of small errands that involved walking past an area with lots of leaves that I could crunch through. It always makes me feel like a kid again, crunching through the first falling leaves of Autumn.

I went to college in Missouri and they really had beautiful Autumns there. I do miss the beautiful park full of maple trees near my dorm room.

I have been walking outside more lately, and it really helps me appreciate the seasons. This weekend, the wind was blowing, the leaves were flying around, and there was a smell of someone’s fireplace in the air.

I came home from my walk and made a cinnamon apple for a snack – yum! It’s quick and easy to make: just cut up the apple into small pieces in a little cup or bowl,  and  sprinkle a little cinnamon and 1 packet of splenda on top, with about a teaspoon of water (or honey) to help it steam.  Microwave for about 1-1/2 to 2 minutes.  Mix it up and enjoy!

This entry was posted in Minimalism, Simple Living. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Autumn Leaves

  1. stevie says:

    that sounds delish — and fast too!! I went to upstate NY and had a great time seeing fall color. It’s so different from the fall we have here in So. Cal!!

Leave a Reply

