The Zen of Kitchen Cleaning

Tonight I tackled my kitchen clutter, and tried to take a more zen / mindful approach to the process. It actually was somewhat successful.

I started by handwashing my dinner dishes, and then decluttering drawers one at a time. I did cheat and have a glass of wine with Washington Week podcast in the background on my iPad, so it wasn’t totally zen. But I noticed that changing my attitude made the process of cleaning a lot more enjoyable.

I removed a drawer, took everything out, and admired how nice and clean it was. Then I discarded any unwanted items – only a few this time around. Then I put back the “keep” items and again admired how nice and organized the drawer looked now. And so on….

It was actually kind of relaxing. The wine probably helped too!

This entry was posted in Decluttering. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Zen of Kitchen Cleaning

  1. Audrey says:

    I am sure the wine was an excellent household cleaning product.

  2. Pingback: Spring Cleaning Time | Simpler. Easier. Happier.

Leave a Reply

