Back from a Long Break…

Hi there – I’m back from an extended blogging break. I needed to take some time to decide whether to keep this blog going as it is, or start over in a new direction. I’ve decided to carry on, as minimalism is a really important theme in my life. I take it for granted sometimes, and then something happens to remind me how minimalism has really transformed my life for the better in so many ways.

I recorded my Voice Over demo a few months ago but have not been pursuing VO work beyond that since that time. I’m setting up a website for my VO work and will link to that so you can check out my voice samples! I’m really happy with how it turned out. The next step will be to do some volunteer work to build my resume and get some headshot photos taken. I am currently on a diet and have lost 12 pounds. When I’m down about 20 pounds, I’ll get the photos.

The dieting experience has made me reaffirm my minimalistic orientation. I started out on Nutrisystem at a friend’s recommendation, which is extremely convenient. However, I didn’t really care for the food and actually was allergic to most of it. They did allow me to return the unused food. Then I tried Weight Watchers. I really recommend this program for most people as it does work and is easy to follow! However, I’ve had even better success with a smartphone app called “Lose It!” that my friend recommended (thanks Audrey!). This has allowed me to get really specific about tracking and give me greater control over the results. Basically it’s just a calorie counting app but you can choose if you want to lose 1/2 pound, 1 pound, etc per week.

In general, I just don’t like this type of structure though. I like a more “natural” approach to things so I’ll probably just go back to something more simple like eating oatmeal every day for breakfast, etc. Of course I’ll figure out the calorie counts first!

I feel the same way about exercise. I have been religiously watching The Biggest Loser on my computer for the past couple of months and bought a couple of Jillian Michaels’ books. However, all the data and exercises kind of have me burned out. It’s useful, but I think just walking and doing yoga everyday can do a lot. In general I prefer to keep things as simple as possible.

The past few weeks were unseasonably warm in California, so I spent a lot of time in the garden, moving shrubs around and replacing old ones and adding some pansies for color. You can actually burn a lot of calories gardening, and it’s really enjoyable for me. Plus my garden looks terrific now – which I find to be a real mood lifter. As I always say, my garden is my favorite room in the house!

This entry was posted in Lifestyle, Minimalism. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Back from a Long Break…

  1. Love love love this post. Such a great way to hear how you are taking charge of your life. Congrats on the weight loss, the exercise program and your VO strategy. PERFECT!!!
    😉
    Stevie

  2. Audrey says:

    I like your natural approach. Congratulations on your weight loss.
    I always enjoy reading your posts.

Leave a Reply

