Induction Complete!

Well, I did it – I completed Atkins induction finally! 14 days at 18-22 net carbs.

I think the multivitamin I took was what got me through it this time . When I forgot to take it I had a tougher time.

Glad I am able to say I completed it but for me personally, this is too low carb. I was actually home sick from work on day 13. I’m supposed to increase to 25 carbs this week now but instead I’m going to add a few carbs a day and get up to 30 carbs for the rest of the week.

Since I did induction at a later stage I lost 4.5 lbs, rather than the usual 10 or so that includes water weight.

I’ll continue to keep my carbs low as I can comfortably to continue to lose weight. I just bought Mark Sisson ‘s book The Primal Blueprint, as I really like his primal diet website. If I get tired of logging food and counting carbs, I’ll give his version a try.

I did notice more of my medical symptoms have improved. Noticed my teeth, hair and nails are better. A decalcified spot on one tooth just disappeared. Sleeping better also – less sleep apnea. Still having some circulation /edema issues in my legs – I don’t know if I can do the 5K this weekend after all. Right now I can only walk 1/4 mile. But the bone spur in my knee is improving after YEARS of pain & swelling. I think it’s the Vitamin K2. So my results aren’t quite as good as I’d hoped, but still moving forward in a good direction. I gained a few pounds back from splurging at parties right before I started induction, so I have now lost 31.5 lbs since Christmas 2013. I need to lose 80 total (would like to lose 100). So I’ve made a good dent in my goal in 6 months so far.

This entry was posted in Health, Weight loss. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

