Whole30 Challenge

I’ve decided to do the Whole30 challenge. If you aren’t familiar with this it’s a Paleo diet “reboot” based on the book It Starts With Food by Dallas & Melissa Hartwig. They also have a blog that describes the program, Whole30.com..

I’ve already read a few Paleo books at this point and listened to hundreds of hours of low-carb and Paleo podcasts, so I’m going to start with the blog.

First I have to give up my beloved dairy, and apparently processed almond milk as well, as it contains carrageenan. I do have a nut bag for my Vitamix but we’ll see how motivated I am to really make my own – apparently the homemade kind is ok.

I have reduced my dairy and noticed that less cheese made my sinuses clearer. Butter and cream don’t seem to have any effect – thank goodness! I don’t think I could cut those out long term.

Check out the website for more details, but in general these are the “rules” for 30 days:

1. No sugar or sweetener
2. No alcohol
3. No grains (potatoes are ok)
4. No legumes
5. No dairy (except ghee)
6. No carrageenan, MSG or sulfites
7. No gluten-free substitute foods (pancakes, etc)
8. No weighing on the scale or body measurements for one month.

Eek! Seems pretty hard-core, but since I can’t do super low-carb, I think this may help some of my lingering health issues. After that, I can go back to an 80/20 paleo plan.

I’ll be starting on August 8th, since I have a party August 7th.

If you’re interested in doing Whole30 also, check out this great post from NomNom Paleo with 30 Days of Whole30 Recipes.

PS – some other good books I’ve read and can recommend:

The Primal Blueprint

Your Personal Paleo Code

Good Calories, Bad Calories

Why We Get Fat: And What To Do About It

Death By Food Pyramid

Foodist

Escape The Diet Trap

Fat Chance

Food Politics

Tomatoland

Fitness Confidential

Some others I have and intend to read include: The Paleolithic Solution, Wheat Belly, Grain Brain and Sweet Poison. I can’t really recommend them until I read them but I’ve heard great reviews.

This entry was posted in Food, Health, Weight loss, Whole30 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

