Whole30 – the aftermath

So naturally, despite reading STRONG advice to the contrary, I added a bunch of foods back in right after Whole30. The results were dramatic.

Day 31 my treats included:

– Mini cheesecake (3 inches)
– 2 McDonalds Bacon/egg/cheese sandwiches with buns removed & organic Pico de gallo
– vanilla latte/McDonalds
– Diet coke
– individual bag Pop chips

Day 32 treats:

– Pint of Haagen Dazs dulce de leche ice cream
– Thai Food for lunch – garlic beef with white rice
– 1 1/2 strawberry pop tarts
– 1/2 cup sugar free jello
– pumpkin latte sugar free

After my sinuses backed up and my stomach protested, and after taking some Immodium AD (anti-diarrheal med), I’ve concluded that yes, I’m gluten intolerant and allergic to dairy. And still sensitive to carbs /sugar.

I tossed out the jello – it tastes disgusting now. Also anything with aspartame is yucky now. I went back to basically my Whole30 eating habits now as of day 33 (but I added cream & bacon back in). I think it was just being told certain foods were forbidden made me want them, but now I realize I don’t want them after all.

I got an Amy’s gluten free pizza and some Van’s gluten free waffles & Maple Grove maple syrup at the store in case I get junk food cravings again, but right now thinking about processed carbs makes me want to throw up so I think I’ll be good for a few days. I tried some Glutino gluten free pancakes made with almond milk & vanilla extract on Friday with a little honey drizzled on top and they were just ok.

I think this experience will make me more compliant going forward!! Don’t make the same mistake I did.

Next step: I am checking out Jack Krause’s Epi-Paleo Diet – just downloaded the Kindle book. You can also check out his Leptin Rx (leptin signaling reset protocol) at jackkrause.com.

I’m gonna ease into this Leptin Rx and not do it strictly right now since I just finished Whole30. But I’m starting with the very high-protein breakfast and so far no hunger mid-morning today. Last night I tried not to eat after 7:30 pm, but got out of bed around 12:30 am to eat a Larabar. So not quite there yet!

Update 9/9: OK, wow – Last night I went to a party and had just 4 cheese & crackers and 1/2 cup of pasta Alfredo. And 1 cookie. Today I have big hives on the top of my head – quite the allergic reaction!! Plus the sinus and tummy issues again. The party is over. I also found out my fab new shampoo has wheat in it, so will cut that out for a few days, but it wasn’t an issue before.

This entry was posted in Epi-Paleo, Food, Health, Weight loss, Whole30 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

