Adrenal Fatigue

I’ve been doing some research online and it looks like I’ve got Stage 3 adrenal fatigue.

A couple of my co-workers seem to have the same issue and one is gluten intolerant also. So we’re on this journey together.

I’ll probably have some labs done but I’m a textbook case. I’m going to back off on any severe dieting and just focus on healthy Paleo eating and stress management for a bit.

Thank goodness I changed to a job that is 75% less stressful a couple months ago. My coworkers are not faring as well.

For the past few years, I was getting colds that lasted a couple months and then turning into bronchitis needing an Advair inhaler, but just realized that I haven’t gotten a cold since going Atkins and then Paleo a little over 6 months ago. So its clearly helping with immune support.

Reading a good book, “Adrenal Fatigue – The 21st Century Stress Syndrome,” by James L. Wilson M.D. I think I will modify their diet advice to be more Paleo, but the book does a good job of describing the syndrome. I think I was at Level 2 for several years. I basically was doing everything I could to kill my adrenals, but now I’m on the right track. Looks like I’ll need to be a bit more patient about weight loss since I think my rapid loss this Spring stressed what was left of my adrenals. It’s healthier to lose more slowly anyway.

UPDATE:

Reading a great audiobook now also, “Tired and Wired,” by Marcelle Pick.

Did the “iris test” for AF and really freaked myself out – my pupil returned to full dilation in only 5 seconds. Not testing well on other measures either. At least this explains my premature hot flashes…

Found out I had misread my Biotin dose in my multi vitamin and it was still too low (it was mg not g). Added 7,500 mcg more daily and that’s making a huge difference – was able to cut my multivitamins from 12 pills to 6 now.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

