Adrenal Fatigue – The Path Back

Been making some progress readjusting my lifestyle in regard to adrenal fatigue with promising results.

Luckily my circadian cycle has improved as I work a 7 am to 4 pm shift. So I can get to bed early and wake up early, with some afternoon sun after I leave work. I already have yellow tinted glasses so that helps with artificial light.

My biggest challenge with sleep is my circulation – waking up periodically with body parts either painful, numb or cramping. (I’m already taking a lot of supplements including magnesium & potassium). My toes keep turning different colors and not sure if it’s Renauds or just poor blood flow. Standing, walking etc really helps but unfortunately I am still exhausted. I’ve been able to do 5-10 min walking daily now and some light housework which helps.

Working hard on stress management. Luckily my new role at work is great and my team is supportive. Really trying to work only 8-9 hours per day.

Food wise, I slipped back into old habits after my big carb refeed and gained 10 pounds – lost 2 of those pounds again now. It was worth it to get my thyroid back on track – pretty normal again. Back to a more Paleo diet and moderate carb.

I think I will try adding goat cheese back in since I am allergic to dairy (cow) rather than lactose intolerant. Since my Whole30 cleanse, I now can’t tolerate hummus either. So my gut is definitely healing. Trying to cut back on antihistamines also. Unfortunately I do react a little to whey protein, but those Quest bars are so convenient!! Looking for a replacement.

Still having some coffee, trying to cut it down to 1 cup per day without success. But overall seeing some improvement. Less hot flashes for one thing! My leptin situation / blood sugar has improved although I am eating more frequently. I’ll get as far as I can on my own and then probably visit a Functional Medicine doctor for additional support.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Adrenal Fatigue – The Path Back

  1. Audrey Ward says:

    It seems like you are putting your body through the wringer. Wouldn’t it be easier to work with a nutritionist? I think so called nutrition bars are all crap compared to real food. Happy though the work is better for you.

    • Hi Audrey! Well I was putting my body through the wringer before when I was doing Atkins induction, but I scaled back once I realized I had adrenal fatigue. I’m doing all the conventional things now to resolve adrenal fatigue. After I give that a little time to work I may work with a functional medicine doctor and their nutritionist if needed .

      I didn’t explain too well. The standard solution for adrenal fatigue is meditation, relaxation techniques, emotional stress management and a healthy lifestyle. Eight hours sleep nightly if possible and very moderate exercise unless fatigued.

      Since I recently realized I am intolerant to gluten and my dairy allergy is worse than I had realized, I’m cutting those out but otherwise eating a whole food diet. For adrenal fatigue you’re supposed to eat 5-6 times a day so the bars are in case I get stuck and would miss a meal otherwise. I’m trying to plan ahead better to prevent that.

      I’ve also cut back from working 12-18 hour days sometimes 7 days a week to 8-9 hours 5 days a week. So really, I’m treating myself better than I have in years. Unfortunately the super low carb diet I did this Spring affected my thyroid because my adrenals were shot, but I was eating about 25 carbs/day and now more like 100-150.

      So far it seems like what I’m doing now is working but I’ll be going back to the endocrinologist soon for some bloodwork and we’ll see how I’m doing then.

Leave a Reply

