What’s For Dinner?

Just tried my first dinner from Pete’s Paleo delivery and it was delicious!! It was seared duck with butternut squash & Brussels sprouts. Really tasty and a good sized serving. Lots of meat! The flavors are delicious. Not cheap but worth it. They have a cookbook, Paleo by Season (by Peter Servold), and I might give that a try!

I bought some other Paleo cookbooks too recently. The first few I bought originally a couple months ago were more special-occasion books and the recipes included lots of nuts, honey, almond flour, coconut flour, arrowroot starch, potato starch & tapioca flour. I’ll definitely use those books occasionally , but lately I’ve had issues with almonds and sunflower seeds and I need to keep my sugar intake low for medical reasons.

I just got some new books I’m pretty excited about – Well Fed and Well Fed 2 by Melissa Joulwen, the 21-Day Sugar Detox Cookbook by Diane Sanfilippo, Everyday Paleo Family Cookbook by Sarah Fragoso, and It Starts With Food by Dallas & Melissa Hartwig.

All these books adhere mostly to the stricter Whole 30 type of Paleo meals and will give me a good foundation for everyday. Focusing mostly on the basics: meat, eggs, fruit, spices, and veggies. I’m learning that I can just defrost a chunk of meat and a chunk of veggies and add seasoning for a quick meal, but sometimes I want more of a recipe. These books offer sauces and seasoning mixes that are Paleo compliant so I can get the same types of flavors I miss from dining out. Lately I’ve been cheating and buying some sauces with preservatives, sugar or vegetable oils, so this will keep me on track. What’s great is that all these books are available on Kindle, so I can take them anywhere!

This entry was posted in Food, Health, Paleo, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

