Better Every Day

I’m starting to see some real progress to my health as I continue the Paleo diet.

I realized the other day that although I have been eating relatively low-carb for 9 months now, I probably still am producing too much insulin. That’s one of the reasons I plateaued, in addition to the adrenal fatigue.

My energy improves daily and I have snacks if I need them, but much less frequently. My sleep apnea is a distant memory.

I’m healing faster too from cuts and burns. I haven’t been sick in 9 months. I don’t seem to need the heater at night anymore – before I would shiver and be unable to sleep when it got colder in November. I am walking around in short sleeves when others are complaining about the cold weather (not really that cold – about 50 F degrees, this is California!)

My hair is getting thicker, but the other day I got really stressed and my hair started noticeably shedding. I’m trying to really protect myself from stress as much as possible. My eyes are still super light sensitive but a little bit better.

I think in January I will commit to going 95% paleo for a year. I’ve been more like 70% lately, especially with sweets. I need to be stricter and I think my health will improve faster. I’ll save my exceptions for special occasions or dining out.

I’m exercising regularly (but moderately) now and that’s helping control my insulin levels. I had a setback the other day when I fell down the stairs and badly twisted my knee. But I’m recovering very quickly and am able to walk slowly on the treadmill again. My legs still swell after exercising but overall the circulation is improving.

I’ve easily maintained an overall weight loss of 29 lbs without effort or hunger.

Although I still have a ways to go, it’s exciting that I’ve found something that finally works!! I know that each day will just get better. Instead of getting sicker and more incapacitated, I know I will get thinner, stronger and healthier. I’m really looking forward to my next doctor visit!

This entry was posted in Health, Lifestyle, Paleo, Weight loss and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Better Every Day

  1. Audrey Ward says:

    So happy you are feeling better. Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

