My 1st Gluten-Free Christmas!

I started eating low-carb early last year (March?) so this was my first gluten-free Christmas!

Since I am spending the holidays with family, I decided to focus on gluten free rather than low-carb or Paleo.

I think I may actually have Celiac Disease, so I’m really trying not to make any exceptions to the gluten.  I keep getting small unintentional cross-contamination exposures though but overall my digestion is a huge improvement over previous holidays.  It helps that my sister-in-law has been amazingly supportive in preparing gluten-free meals.  For breakfast I mostly have beef jerky or quest bars, but the whey in the bars was an issue after a few days since I’m allergic to dairy.

I found a great app for my iPhone – DineGF, that is helping me make good choices dining out.  I also downloaded a pdf from celiact.com and saved to my phone bookmarks – it lists choices for most fast food places.  

I’ve been doing more research online to avoid cross-contamination. I’m realizing that things like lipstick and supplements have to be checked too.  Also I need to get a new toaster – duh!  No wonder I get sick whenever I eat Vans “gluten free” waffles.  

Next time I see my endocrinologist I’ll request we add the DNA test for Celiac when I get my usual blood tests soon. I don’t want to get the regular blood test or endoscopy biopsy yet because I’d have to add gluten back to my diet first.  I already have 13 crowns and my gums aren’t currently doing well due to previous acid reflux – I’m afraid of losing teeth, so I’ll heal first and maybe do the other tests later if I need further treatment than diet.  I haven’t had any cavities or crowns since cutting out gluten. Last November I got 3 crowns in 1 month!

In the meantime, I’ve been checking out some good celiac blogs for advice:

Glutendude.com
PrettyLittleCeliac.com
TheCeliacDiva.com
Celiac.com

I also bought the books by Jennifer Esposito and Elizabeth Hasselbeck, and Gluten Is My Bitch (there is also a blog with the same name).

Cutting out gluten completely is really making a difference to how I feel.  I want to start losing weight again, so I think I will try low carb again after the holidays as my adrenal fatigue is much improved.    I am also considering a GAPS diet to help heal my digestive tract and resolve my food allergies, although I am slowly improving.

I found a great Holiday cookbook “Against All Grain – Thankful” by Danielle Walker with some great Paleo/GF recipes that I want to try next year.  

Just realized I need to update my blog intro and put up some before/after pics – will do that soon.

Will add links later!  Happy Holidays!l

UPDATE: Uuggggggh – my brother didn’t realize soy sauce has gluten and he used in the brine for the turkey for Xmas dinner – I am scarfing down the Tums big time right now….good thing my outfit was not tight!

UPDATE #2: Wow!!! Not sure I actually NEED to get tested for Celiac disease. After a night of gas & bloating and painful sharp abdominal cramps (even with Tums), I had diarrhea all the next day, a horrible red puffy rash on my face, and my knees and toes swelled up so badly it was painful to walk/stand. A GREAT time to go to post-Christmas mall sales with family! I know where all the bathrooms are now. Thank God for Immodium AD, which at least slowed me down some. It was a pretty minor gluten exposure; I ate maybe 2 ounces of the turkey that was brined in soy sauce. Leftovers tonight – I really hope it was JUST the turkey! I’m scared to eat dinner…..I think I’ll just have beef jerky!

UPDATE #3: ugh I got more cross-contamination again at a restaurant the next day. I should have asked for details on the sweet potato fries. I found a gluten digestive supplement at Amazon from NOW Foods – it’s to help reduce the worst symptoms when you get an accidental gluten exposure. Drinking lots of water, and antacids, helps too. Will let you know if the supplement works!!

This entry was posted in Food, Gluten-Free, Health, Holidays, Paleo and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My 1st Gluten-Free Christmas!

  1. Audrey Ward says:

    Merry Christmas to you and your healthier self.

Leave a Reply

