Why I Chose To Go 100% Gluten-Free

I do plan to get DNA tested for Celiac Disease, but I plan to stay gluten free regardless of the diagnosis. A few people have asked me why.

Below are reactions I attribute to gluten.

The “immediate” symptoms start 10-15 minutes after a gluten exposure. (I just get acid reflux if it’s a very slight exposure).

The “delayed” symptoms start a couple hours to one day later, some lasting up to 4 days.

The “Long Term” are health issues I have had, some starting at age 7, which I might be able to attribute to gluten intolerance. I think I have had undiagnosed gluten intolerance for over 40 years. Now after a year of being 95% gluten free, many of my conditions are improving slowly. I haven’t been sick for a year – not even a cold! Liquid vitamins also help.

If you recognize yourself in the symptoms below, you might consider a gluten free diet as well.

Immediate:

Burning intestinal tract
Acid reflux
Gas
Bloating 
Cramps
Sharp stabbing abdominal pain
Nausea
Regurgitating food

Delayed reaction:

Diarrhea
Constipation
Red rash on face or head
Swollen joints
Headache
Brain fog
Cognitive issues
Fatigue
Low energy
Shivering/chills
Rosacea

Long term;

ADHD
Severe tooth decay (13 crowns)
Constipation
Light sensitivity
Fatigue
Gum disease
Lipomas
Fibroids/fibromas
Numb extremities
Edema in lower legs
Low sex drive
Hair loss
Emotional issues
Poor vitamin absorption
Colon polyps
Low thyroid
Over 40 allergies, including various foods
Early menopause onset
Night terrors
Sleepwalking
Laryngeal edema
Asthma
Respiratory infections
Broken ribs from coughing
Sinus infections
Strep throat

This entry was posted in Gluten-Free, Health, Paleo, Whole30 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

