Phasing into the Autoimmune Protocol

I’ve decided to try a stricter version of the Paleo diet called the Autoimmune Protocol (AIP).

The Paleo diet is anti-inflammatory, but this AIP version takes it a step further and removes even more potential inflammatory triggers like nightshade vegetables (like tomatoes), eggs, some spices, and COFFEE.  Wow – that will be the hardest part!

Since I’m going on vacation in July, I’ll initially do a month of AIP and then an additional month of food reintroduction.  I’ll start after my colonoscopy on the 8th, since the procedure prep will clear out any existing small intestinal bacterial overgrowth (SIBO).  

I’m actually sensitive or allergic to (or have already eliminated) a lot of foods on the AIP list, so I think this will be helpful.  It may help resolve the remaining edema and numbness that I have.  I’ve already cut out nuts & seeds & alcohol this week.  Next week I’ll cut from 2 cups to 1 cup of coffee.  I also need to cut out aspirin a week before my scope anyway.

When I do the reintroduction, if I react to any foods I’ll keep avoiding them.  After my vacation I’ll do another full AIP for 3 months and try again.  If I still react, I’ll need to eliminate those foods for awhile.  

I’ve read a lot of positive feedback about this diet – that it’s hard, but it works.  Fingers crossed!

UPDATE:  I’ve decided to start AIP right away, except for coffee, aspirin and sweeteners for now.  Yesterday I was trying to use up remaining non-compliant foods before my AIP diet starts, and I had a terrible reaction this morning:  my legs, feet, hands, arms and eye sockets swelled up and I have a horrible headache.   Sooo – I’ve eliminated mostly everything non-AIP right now!  This was the final confirmation that I DO need this protocol and maybe for a year or two rather than a few months!  Wow.  If I’m still sick tomorrow I’ll cut the remaining three items now as well.

UPDATE #2:  Day 2 on AIP-ish diet & doing well.  Symptoms improving.  I still have a death grip on coffee, aspirin, stevia / xylitol, black pepper & dried fruit, but hoping to phase those out soon.  I noticed that I have more energy and less appetite.  More feeling is returning to the soles of my feet!  Yay!  This is easier than I expected, but we’ll see how I am in a couple weeks!  Bought Mickey Trescott’s AIP cookbook for more ideas.

UPDATE #3:  Meh.  Day 3 and I think I’m experiencing what is called “die off.”  Feeling a bit like carb flu but with more energy.  Swelling and congestion continues to improve.

UPDATE #4:  Doing great on 95% AIP.  Need to strive for 100% and I’m eating too much fruit, but it’s progress!  Hardly any appetite.  Still have some swelling / inflammation, so I think the coffee has to go (sob).

UPDATE #5: One week in – doing great on AIP – no appetite at all!  I am making a point of eating at intervals though.  I cut out aspirin and coffee, but my blood pressure is already super low from adrenal fatigue and I think that pushed it much too low – yesterday I kept  nearly fainting every time I stood up, and spent most of the day lying down.  I added the coffee back for now, and I’ll try removing it again when I can add the 8 mg daily B12 back after my colonoscopy, which should give me more energy. Maybe green tea could be a substitute.

UPDATE #6: almost 2 weeks into AIP – was able to replace coffee with caffeinated green tea.  Sleeping deeply for 8 hours now – probably best sleep quality of my life! Still some numbness & inflammation and I had an allergic reaction to something – maybe peaches.  Hope I don’t need to cut out “fodmaps” too.  It was a whole bag of frozen peaches so maybe that’s why I didn’t have an issue before.  I may need to cycle foods to prevent allergies from too much frequency – in a bit of a routine.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

