I Ate Chocolate and Didn’t Die

I’m allergic to chocolate (verified by a formal allergy test).  It used to be minor, got progressively worse and then I had to use an epi pen.  My throat would close up, I would get asthma, it felt like someone was squeezing my heart in their fist, and also like something heavy was pushing down hard on my chest.  So I stopped eating chocolate!

I have numerous food allergies and intolerances, even on the Autoimmune Protocol, I have additional intolerances not on the list:  olives, citrus, raw honey, seaweed.  Since going on the Paleo diet, all my allergies improved significantly, but now I’m probably eating too many of those borderline foods too often, which is why I’m doing The Autoimmune Protocol.

Anyway, I was at a party tonight and my friend had made special gluten-free M&M cookies for me.  I have tried a little bit of chocolate twice recently, but took epinephrine tablets with it both times.  This time I just ate it!

I was kind of scared, but I knew I had epinephrine in my purse just in case,  but I didn’t need it. I did get slight  chest congestion & tightness but that’s it!!!!!!!!

I did take a Benadryl when I got home just to be safe!  Super excited this allergy has improved so much.  I’m not going to start chowing down on chocolate yet, though.  But it’s nice to know I can have an occasional bite!

UPDATE:  had chocolate on 2 additional occasions and still ok!  I need to stop now though since chocolate is not approved for the Autoimmune Protocol diet I’m on and I still have a slight reaction when I eat it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I Ate Chocolate and Didn’t Die

  1. gfreeirish says:

    That’s good to hear that some of your allergies are improving. I have noticed that I can tolerate a small amount of starch. I’m on the paleo diet myself for about months now.

  2. Audrey Ward says:

    I enjoy following your progress and it seems that you keep getting better and better.

Leave a Reply

