Carb Cycling Redux

Ok – I had both good and bad results from carb backloading, so I’m going to customize a bit.

I was trying the Carbohydrate Addicts Diet approach, which has worked for me in the past.  Essentially you do very low carb for 2 meals and then you get a free meal, preferably at dinner. Guess both me and my pancreas are getting older so I had some issues this time.

The good part:  I LOVED that I had no appetite and lost 4 lbs in 4 days. Sweets and packaged foods lost their appeal. My cognition/focus improved as well.

The bad part:  Occasionally dehydrated, dizzy, hypoglycemic.

What I SHOULD do is just cut back my carbs gradually down to about 50-70 net carbs/day.  It worked for me before.  But I’m really sick of tracking.  Plus I’m going on vacation soon.

It didn’t work when I had my carb meal at breakfast or dinner, but lunch seems ok.  I think also I was having fruit, starch, a drink and dessert all at once and my insulin spiked too high then my blood sugar crashed later.

There is a newer version of CAD called the Carbohydrate Addicts Lifespan Program (CALP) that advocates a more moderate approach.  Having basically a regular meal that includes protein and veggies 1/3 each and only the remaining 1/3 is glycemic carbs.  I think fat would also work to give more absorption.

So for now I’ll try it again with a carby treat meal (like gluten free pizza) really just once or twice a week and otherwise a normal meal plus a little something extra for lunch, or switch to dinner if I have plans with friends.  It’s hard to avoid some kind of starch/fruit when dining out or at a friends house, even if it’s gluten free.  If I do have dessert I’ll have just a few bites or choose something higher in fat.  I’ll avoid more glycemic drinks and stick to vodka/tequila when possible or at least dry wine.  Cider really seems to affect my blood sugar.

And if this doesn’t work, it’s back to carb counting!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

